Back
Mythology, Folklore, etc.
LIBRARY MEDIA CENTER
GLENDALE COMMUNITY COLLEGE
6000 WEST OLIVE AVE.
GLENDALE, AZ 85302
TEL:623.845.3112
Listed below are web sites on this topic. See also our LMC GUIDE: MYTHOLOGY for books and other research aids on this topic in our library. Aadizookaanag - Native American folklore & legends

American Folklore - "This folklore site contains retellings of American folktales, Native American myths and legends, tall tales, weather folklore and ghost stories from each and every one of the 50 United States."

ABC Arts Online: WingedSandals - http://www.wingedsandals.com/ - (Macromedia Reader). This site takes visitors through the world of Greek mythology with a number of Flash-enabled features.

Classical Mythology Directory - produced by Dr. Robin Mitchell-Boyask of Temple University for her students, this site provides mythology resources, study guides, lesson ideas.

Folklore and Mythology electronic texts - (edited and/or translated by D. L. Ashliman of the Univ. of Pittsburgh) - one index lists tales by subject, title, author(s), and character names.

Germanic Myths, Legends, and Sagas - compiled by D. L. Ashliman.

Legends - King Arthur, Robin Hood, D'Artagnan, Beowulf, and other "swashbuckling characters."

Myth and Legend from Ancient Times to the Space Age - a well-organized site that provides annotated links for Mythology and Folklore as well as for Legendary Creatures.

Myths & Legends- arranged by region and language; links are annotated.

Mythweb - Greek gods and heroes; encyclopedia of Greek mythology.

The Pantheon - provides a family tree of Greek gods and goddesses with essays, interactive hyperlinks, and suggested readings.

World Myths & Legends in Art - this website from the Minneapolis Institute of Arts uses 26 works of art selected from its collections to explore mythology from around the world. Each work of art has a corresponding essay that includes key points; the story that inspired the work of art; background, such as history, cultural context and style; and suggested discussion questions.


Legal Disclaimer ; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
URL: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu/lmc/help/guides/myth_sites.html
Last modified: Tuesday March 04 2008

WEB RESOURCES LMC HOME PAGE GCC HOME PAGE MCCD HOME PAGE