|
This
guide lists some basic resources for mythology.
REFERENCE SOURCES
Specialized Encyclopedias and
Handbooks are a good source for basic information. These can be located in
the Reference collection (low shelves, west end of the LMC).
- Man, Myth, and Magic (Ref BF
1407 .M34 1995) - 21 vols. covering a wide range of mythological subjects,
motifs, etc. An earlier edition is in the circulating collection.
- Mythology of All Races (Ref
BL 25 .M8) (13 vols.)
- The Facts on File Encyclopedia
of World Mythology and Legend (Ref BL 303 .M45 1988)
- The Golden Bough (Ref BL 310
.F72)
- Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology
(Ref BL 310 .G853)
- World Mythology (Ref BL 311
.W66 1993)
- A Guide to the Gods (Ref BL
473 .C37 1982)
- Goddesses in World Mythology
(Ref BL 473.5 .A66 1993)
- Dictionary of African Mythology
(Ref BL 2400 .S24 2000)
- Dictionary of Celtic Mythology
(Ref BL 900 .M445 1998)
- Dictionary of Norse Myth and
Legend (Ref BL 860 .73 1997)
- Standard Dictionary of Folklore
(Ref GR 35 .F82)
- Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore,
and Symbols (Ref GR 35 .J6 1961)
- Dictionary of Chicano Folklore
(Ref GR 111 .M49 C37 2000)
- Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia
of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs and Customs (Ref GR 35 .M43 2000)
- Spirits, Fairies, Gnomes, and Goblins:
An Encyclopedia of the Little People (Ref GR 549 .R65 1996)
- Mythology for Storytellers: Themes
and Tales from Around the World (Ref BL 312 .S54 2003)
BOOKS AND MEDIA MATERIALS
Use "Books and Media" to locate books and media items in our collection and
other libraries in the MCCCD system. You can search by author, title, subject,
or keyword. Some typical subject headings you may want to use include:
- Mythology
- Folklore
- Legends
- Gods
- Indian Mythology (for general
Native American)
- Use "Subject Keyword" on the pull-down menu to search "Mythology" with ethnic groups. For Example, Celtic Mythology,
African Mythology, Hopi Mythology, Viking Mythology, Norse Mythology, etc.
MAGAZINE, JOURNAL, AND NEWSPAPER
articles can also be located using the library's electronic databases. These
can be accessed from the Library Home Page, use "Articles and Databases". Use some
of the subject headings mentioned above to locate articles in the databases.
Some good databases to use include General OneFile, and EBSCOMasterFile
Premier
WEB SITES Some web sites
that you may want to consult include the following:
- ABC
Arts Online: WingedSandals - http://www.wingedsandals.com/ - (Macromedia
Reader). This site takes visitors through the world of Greek mythology with
a number of Flash-enabled fetures.
- Aadizookaanag
- http://www.kstrom.net/isk/stories/myths.html - Native American folklore
& legends
- Folklore
and Mythology electronic texts - http://www.pitt.edu/~dash/folktexts.html
-(edited and/or translated by D. L. Ashliman of the Univ. of Pittsburgh)
- one index lists tales by subject, title, author(s), and character names.
- Folklore
and Mythology - http://www.djmcadam.com/folklore.html - link to folklore
and myths of many cultures
- Legends
- http://www.legends.dm.net/ - King Arthur, Robin Hood, D'Artagnan, Beowulf,
and other "swashbuckling characters."
- Regional
Folklore - http://www.pibburns.com/mythregi.htm - a well-organized
site that provides annotated links for Mythology and Folklore as well as
for Legendary Creatures
- Myths
& Legends- http://www.myths.com/pub/myths/mythold.html - arranged
by region and language; links are annotated
- Mythweb
- http://www.mythweb.com/ - Greek gods and heroes; encyclopedia of Greek
mythology
Legal Disclaimer ;
Page maintained by LMC Web Group
URL: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu/lmc/help/guides/mythology.htm
Last modified: Tuesday March 04 2008
|