|
This
guide lists basic, selected resources for Native Americans, including books,
databases, and web sites.
REFERENCE SOURCES
Specialized Encyclopedias and Handbooks
- The Native American Almanac (Ref E 75 .N397 2001)
- American Indians (3 vols.) (Ref E 76.2 .A45 1995)
- Dictionary of Literary Biography: Native American Writers of the United
States (Ref PS 21 .D5 1978)
- Handbook of North American Indians (selected volumes) (Ref E 76.2 .H36)
- Reference Encyclopedia of the North American Indians, 6th ed. (Ref E 76.2
.R4)
- Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World (Ref E 54.5 .K46 2002)
- Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes (Ref E 76.2 .W35 1999)
- Encyclopedia of Native American Religions (Ref E 98 .R3 H73 2000)
- Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume (Ref E 98 .C8 P37 1994)
- Native American Literatures (Ref PS 153 .I52 W47 1999)
- Statistical Record of Native North Americans (Ref E 98 .P76 S73 1993)
- Native American in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia (Ref E 76.2 .N36 1994)
- Atlas of the North American Indian (Ref E 77 .W195 2000b)
- Encyclopedia of Native American Healing (Ref E 98 .M4 L96 1998)
- Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism (Ref E 98 .M4 L98 1998)
- Encyclopedia of North American Indians (Ref E 76.2 .E53 1996)
- American Indian Religious Traditions: An Encyclopedia (Ref E 98 .R3 C755)
- American Indian Culture (Ref E 98 .S7 A44 2004)
BOOKS AND MEDIA MATERIALS
Use "Books and Media" to locate books
and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system. Search
for your topic as a SUBJECT. Typical subject headings include:
- Indians of North America--[subheadings]
- Names of individual tribes/nations, e.g., Hopi, Navajo
- American Literature--Indian Authors
- Indian Authors
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION
RANGE:
| E 75 - 99 |
Indians of North America |
| E 81-83 |
Indian Wars |
| E 99 -- |
Specific tribes/nations/cultures |
MAGAZINE, JOURNAL, AND NEWSPAPER articles can also be located using the Periodical Indexes or Databases.
The subject headings used to locate books usually will be appropriate for
searching the databases for articles.
- Databases
Use "Articles & Databases" on the Library Home page to get to the list of the LMC's subscription
databases. Some you may want to explore include the following databases:
- Ethnic Newswatch
- EBSCOhost MasterFILE Premier
- General OneFile
JOURNAL SUBSCRIPTIONS at GCC.
The LMC has subscriptions to journals for Native Americans in electronic formats
which are available from databases. You can access the full texts of articles
from the "Articles & Databases" on the LMC Home Page, then select a database. Some of the journals and databases we have are listed below. Journal
coverage in the databases is subject to change.
Electronic: Use Serials Solutions to access these e-magazines and/or e-journals.
- American Indian Culture and Research Journal
- American Indian Law Review
- American Indian Quarterly
- American Indian Report
- Cherokee Phoenix and Indian Advocate
- Cherokee Observer
- Cherokee Signal
- Cherokee Voice
- Fort Apache Scout
- Indian Country Today
- Indian Report (Washington, D.C.)
- Journal of American Indian Education
- Native American Law Digest
- Native American Times
- Native Americas
- Native Voice
- Navajo Nation Today
- Navajo Times
- News from Indian Country
- Ojibwe Akiing
- Ojibwe News
- Tribal College Journal of American Indian Higher Education
- Tribal College Journal
- Whispering Wind
- Windspeaker
WEB SITES that you may want to consult include the following:
Legal Disclaimer ;
Page maintained by LMC Web Group
URL: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu/lmc/help/guides/nativeam.html
Last modified:
Tuesday March 04 2008
|