SOURCES FOR BASIC FACTS AND
INFORMATION
This guide lists some
basic resources in Nursing and Medicine, including books, periodical databases,
and web sites.
REFERENCE SOURCES
Dictionaries
- Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictonary (Ref R 121 .D73 2003)
- Mosby's Medical Dictionary (Ref R 121 .M894 2006)
- Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 28th ed. (Ref R 121 .S8 2006)
- Stedmna's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions & Nursing, 5th ed.(Ref R 121 .S8 2005)
- Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Ref R 121 .T18 2005)
- Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Allied Health (Ref R 121
.M65 2003)
Specialized Encyclopedias and
Handbooks
- Davis's Comprehensive handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests: with Nursing Implications (Ref RB 38.2 .S37 2006)
- Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses (Ref RM 301.12 .D44 2007)
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (Ref RC 41 .G35 2006)
- Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health (Ref RT 21 .G353 2006)
- Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals, 12th
ed. (Ref RS 51 .M4 2006)
- Handbook of Diagnostic Tests, 2nd ed. (Ref RC 71 .P76 2003)
- Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis (Ref RT 486 .C385 2006)
- Mosby's Drug Guide for Nurses (Ref RM 301.12 .S56 2007)
- Mosby's Nursing Drug Reference (Ref RM 138 .M67 2007)
- PDR Nurse's Drug Reference (Ref RM 125 .P47 2007)
- Prentice-Hall's Handbook of Laboratory & diagnostic Tests: with Nursing Implications (Ref RB 38.2 .K44 2005)
- Professional Guide to Diseases (Ref RT 65 .P69 2005)
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis & Therapy (Ref RC 55 .M4) (current ed. available
at the Information Desk)
- Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine (R 121 .O884 2001)
- PDR: Physician's Desk Reference (Ref RS 75 .P5) (current ed. available
at the Information Desk)
BOOKS AND MEDIA MATERIALS
Use "Books and Media" to locate
books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system.
Search for your topic as a SUBJECT, such as: PEDIATRICS .
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION
RANGE - Medicine: R
| RB - Pathology |
RM - Therapeutics, Pharmacology |
| RC - Internal Medicine |
RS - Pharmacy and materia
medica |
| RD - Surgery |
RT - Nursing |
| RJ - Pediatrics |
RX - Homeopathy |
MAGAZINE, JOURNAL, AND NEWSPAPER articles can also be located using Periodical Indexes or Electronic Databases.
You can obtain journal articles by (1) going to the Circulation Desk and asking
for one of the journals in paper format (these are listed below under "Library
Subscriptions"), or (2) using the electronic databases to retrieve full-text
journal articles. Some databases contain both popluar magazine and newspaper
articles as well as academic or scholarly journal articles.
Databases
Use "Articles & Databases" on the Library Home page
to get to the list of the LMC's subscription databases. These are in the "Medicine, Nursing, Health" section and have many full-text
journal articles.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOHost)) - the online version of the print index.
It is designed specifically for nursing programs in academic institutions
as well as hospital libraries, the CINAHL database with Full Text covers
a wide range of topics, including nursing, allied health, alternative
therapies, biomedicine, consumer helath, and health administration. This
database offers over 1,200 titles (with more than 260 in full text) and
coverage from 1982 to the present.
- Health Source - Nursing/Academic (EBSCOHost) - provides over 550 scholarly
full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured
are abstracts and indexing for over 850 journals.
- Health Source - Consumer (EBSCOHost) - provides full texts for
nearly 150 journals, including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health,
as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition
and professional health care publications. Users can also search a collection of pamphlets, meical reference books and the Spanish and English versions of Clinical Reference Systems reports.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOHost) provides abstracts to over 4,800 current medical journals.
LIBRARY SUBSCRIPTIONS - the
library maintains current subscriptions to the following journals in the Nursing
and Medical field. You can ask at the Circulation/Reserve desk for copies in
paper format. Older issues may be on microfilm or microfiche as indicated. Note
that many of these can also be acccessed electronically through the library's
databases (above).
- American Journal of Nursing : AJN (paper: Current year + 1 yr.;
mfiche: v.90, 1990 - )
- Critical Care Nurse (B) (paper: Current year + 4 yrs; mfiche: v.6, no. 1
1986 - v. 18, no. 6 1998)
- Geriatric Nursing (paper: Current year + 5 yrs.)
- Journal of Nursing Education (paper: Current year + 1 yr.; mfiche: v.18, 1979 - )
- Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic, and Neonatal Nursing : JOGNN (mfiche: v. 14, 1985 - present)
- Nursing (paper: Current year + 5yrs.)
- Nursing Research (mfiche: v. 28, no.2 1979 - )
- RN (paper: Current year + 5yrs.)
Medicine and Health
Journals include:
- American Family Physician (paper: Current year + 1 yr.)
- American Journal of Health Promotion (paper: v. 20, no. 3 [Jan. 2006] - )
- Emergency Medical Services (paper: v. 35, no. 2 [Feb. 2006] - )
- FDA Consumer (paper: Current year + 5 years)
- JAMA : Journal of the American Medical Association (paper: Current year + 1 yr.; mfiche: v.253, 1985 - )
- JEMS: Journal of Emergency Services (paper: v. 32, no. 2 [Feb. 2006] - )
- Journal of Forensic Science (paper: v.34, no.1, Jan. 1989 - )
- New England Journal of Medicine (paper: Current year + 1 yr.; mfiche: v.312, no. 1 [Jan., 1985] - )
- Prevention (paper: Current year + 5 yrs.)
WEB SITES Some web sites
that you may want to consult include the following:
There are many others that you
may want to consult include for specific diseases, organizations. Some examples
include:
Medical Journals Online Note: Some online/e-journals will charge for articles. The library databases
are free.
New
England Journal of Medicine [http://www.nejm.org/content/index.asp]
Nurseweek/HealthWeek [http://www.nurseweek.com/]
Legal Disclaimer ;
Page maintained by LMC Web Group
URL: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu
/lmc/help/guides/nursing.html
Last modified:
Tuesday March 04 2008