Reference Sources
Dictionaries
- APA Dictionary of Psychology (Ref BF 31 .A63 2007)
- Biographical Dictionary of Psychology (Ref BF 109 .A1 B56 1997)
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories (Ref BF 31 .E44 2006)
Specialized Publications: Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc.
- DSM-IV - Diagnostic and Statisitcal Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th ed. (Ref RC 455.2 .C4 D54 1994)
- Complete Home Guide to Mental Health (Ref RC 460 .C59 1992)
- Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment, 4 vols. (Ref BF 176 .C654 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Human Behavior, 4 vols. (Ref BF 31 .E5)
- Encyclopedia of Psychology, 8 vols. (Ref BF 31 .E52 2000)
- The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 3rd ed., 4 vols. (Ref BF 31 .E52 2001)
- Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence (Ref BF 431 .E59 1994)
- Encyclopedia of Human Emotions (Ref BF 531 .E55 1999)
- Handbook of Child Psychology, 5th ed. (Ref BF 721 .H242 1998)
- Handbook of Psychology, 12 vols. (Ref BF 121 .H1955 2003)
- Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties (Ref RC 535 .D63 1989)
- Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and the Psychotic Disorders (Ref RC 514 .N63 2000)
- Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming (Ref BF 1078 .E63 1993)
- Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology. Electronic Resource. Gale Virtual Reference Library
Books and Media Materials
Subject Headings and Search Strategies
Use "Books and Media" to locate books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCDsystem. Search for your topic as a SUBJECT, such as: DREAMS. There are a number of possible subject headings, from broad categories to specific aspects of psychology.
| Abnormal Psychology (Use Psychology, Pathological) |
Behaviorism (Psychology) |
| Animal Experimentation |
Laboratory Animals |
| Child Psychology |
Compulsive Behavior |
| Depression, Mental |
Developmental Psychology |
| Ego (Psychology) |
Emotion |
| Gestalt Psychology |
Identity (Psychology) |
| Love |
Motivation |
| Personality |
Psychology, Applied |
| Psychology, Comparative |
Psychology, Industrial |
| Psychotherapy |
Panic Disorders |
| Schizophrenia |
Self-Destructive Behaviors |
Library of Congress Classification Range
- some typical areas are listed below; clinical and therapeutic aspects of psychology are located in the RC area.
- BF Psychology
- BF 173-175 Psychoanalysis
- BF 180-210 Experimental Psychology
- BF 637 .S4 Self-Actualization (Self-Help, Success, etc.)
- BF 698 Personality
- BF 721-723 Child Psychology
- RC 321-571 Neurosciences. Biological Psychiatry
- RC 435-571 Psychiatry
- RC 500-571 Psychoanalysis
Magazines, Journals, and Newspapers
Articles can also be located using the Library's Databases.
Databases
Use "Articles & Databases" on the Library Home page to get to the list of the LMC's subscription databases.
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields. Journal coverage spans 1887 to present.
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.
PsycARTICLES, from the (APA), provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage includes general psychology as well as specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present. Most APA journals are available from Volume 1, Issue 1.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Each database has its own start dates for indexing, abstracting, and full text; start dates for full-text rights to individual journals vary within a database.
Web Sites
Some web sites that you may want to consult include the ones listed below. The GCC Psychology Department Psychology Links webpage provides numerous links in this field.
- American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry has a number of guides to issues that affect children, teenagers, and their families.
[http://www.aacap.org/page.ww?name=Resources+for+Families§ion=Resources+for+Families]
- AmoebaWeb lists sites and internet pages pertinent to all areas of psychology. [http://www.vanguard.edu/faculty/ddegelman/amoebaweb/]
- Encyclopedia of Psychology - provides links to approximately 2,000 sites devoted to psychological topics: career resources, people and history, environment, behavior, relationships, organizations, paradigms and theories, etc.
[http://www.psychology.org/links/]
- The Psi Cafe: A Psychology Resource Site - provides numerous links to psychology resources: history, theorists and theories, reesearch, organizations, careers, etc. It is designed and maintained by Nicole Sage, a doctoral student at Portland State University. [http://www.psy.pdx.edu/PsiCafe/]
- PsychWeb - psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology. [http://www.psywww.com/]
- Grohol's Psyc Central - index for psychology, support, and mental health issues, resources and people on the internet.
[http://psychcentral.com/]
- Mental Help Net - guide to online mental health and behavioral health professions. [http://mentalhelp.net/]
- PhobiaList
[http://www.phobialist.com/]
|
On This Page
Quick Links
|