|
This
guide lists basic, selected resources in Religion, including books, periodical
databases, and web sites.
REFERENCE SOURCES
Bibles/Dictionaries
- The Bible (Ref BS 191- )
- The Koran [Qur'an] (Ref BP 109 .S45)
- The Torah (Ref BS 1225.3 P55)
- Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
- Dictionary of Christianity in America (Ref BR 515 .D53)
- Eerdman's Dictionary of the Bible (Ref BS 440 .E44 2000)
Specialized Encyclopedias and Handbooks
- Contemporary American Religion (Ref BL 2525 .C65 2000)
- Contemporary Hinduism (Ref BL 1202 .C65 2004)
- The Coptic Encyclopedia (Ref
BX 130.5 .C66 1991)
- Encyclopedia of African American Religions (Ref BR 563 .N4 E53 1993)
- Encyclopedia of American Religions (Ref BL 2525 .M449)
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism (Ref BQ 128 .E62 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (Ref BP 40 .E525 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Judaism (Ref BM 50 .E635 1999)
- Encyclopedia of Monasticism (Ref BL 631 .E63)
- Encyclopedia of Mormonism (Ref BX 8605.5 .E62)
- The Encyclopedia of Religion (Ref BL 31 .E46)
- Encyclopedia of Sacred Places (Ref BL 580 .B76 1997)
- Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion (Ref BL 458 .E53 1999)
- New Catholic Encyclopedia (Ref BX 841 .N44)
- Oxford History of the Biblical World (Ref BS 635.2 .O94 1998)
- Religion and American Cultures, 3 vols. (Ref BL 2525 .R448 2003)
- Routledge Curzon Encyclopedia of Confucianism, 2 vols. (Ref BL 1840 .R68 2003)
BOOKS AND MEDIA MATERIALS
Use "Books and Media" to locate
books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system.
Search for your [topic] as a SUBJECT, such as: Sufism.
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION
RANGE:
- BL 1830 - 1883 Confucianism
- BL 1899 - 1942.5 Taoism
- BL 2017 - 2018.7 Sikhism
- BL 2216 - 2227.8 Shinto
- BL 1100 - 1295 Hinduism
- BM 1 - 990 Judaism
- BP 1 - 610 Islam
- BQ 1 - 9800 Buddhism
- BQ 9250 - 9519 Zen Buddhism
- BR-BV Christianity
- BS 1 - 2970 Bible
- BX Denominations
- BX 250 - 756 Eastern Orthodox Church
- BX 800 - 4795 Catholic Church
- BX 4800 - 9999 Protestantism
MAGAZINE, JOURNAL, AND NEWSPAPER articles can also be located using the Library's Databases.
The subject headings used to locate books usually will be appropriate for
searching the databases for articles.
- Databases
Use "Articles & Databases" on the
Library Home page to get to the list of the LMC's subscription databases.
Some you may want to explore include the following general databases:
- MasterFILE Premier
- General OneFile
- JSTOR
- Religion & Philosophy Collection
JOURNAL SUBSCRIPTIONS at GCC
- America (weekly) - Jesuit Catholic perspective (1 yr. + current; mfich:
1973 - 2002; mfilm: 1958 - 72)
- Christian Century (weekly) - Protestant (moderate perspective) (1 yr.
+ current; mfiche: 1973 - 2002; mfilm: 1958 - 72)
- Christianity Today (14/yrs.) - Protestant (evangelical perspective) (2
yrs. + current; mfiche: 1972 - 2002; mfilm: 1968 - 72)
- Commonweal (bi-weekly) - Catholic (1 yr. + current; mfiche: 1972 - 2002;
mfilm, 1959 - 71)
- Humanist (bi-monthly) - Nontheistic, secular perspective (1 yr. + current;
mfiche: 1972 - 2002)
WEB SITES that you may want to consult include the following:
Sacred Texts
The
Bible, Revised Standard Version from the Electronic Text Center, University
of Virginia [http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/rsv.browse.html]
The
Bible Gateway [http://www.biblegateway.com/]
Internet
Sacred Text Archive [http://www.sacred-texts.com/index.htm]
Qu'ran
/ Koran - from the Electronic Text Center, University of Virginia [http://etext.virginia.edu/koran.html]
Project
Genesis Torah on the Net [http://www.torah.org/]
World
Scripture - a comparative anthology of sacred texts [http://www.euro-tongil.org/ws/]
Selected Religions and Denominations
Adherents.com - information and statistical data on religions, denominations, sects [http://www.adherents.com/]
Buddhism - from BuddhaNet [http://www.buddhanet.net]
Zen
Buddhism Virtual Library [http://ciolek.com/WWWVL-Zen.html]
Catholic
Online [http://www.catholic.org]
Hinduism from ReligionFacts.com [http://www.religionfacts.com/hinduism/index.htm]
Islam - from ReligionFacts.com [http://www.religionfacts.com/islam/index.htm]
Islamic
Studies, Islam, Arabic, and Religion - a site from the University of
Georgia recommended by the [http://godlas.myweb.uga.edu/]
Judaism - from the Jewish Internet Consortium [http://shamash.org]
The
Orthodox Christian Foundation [http://www.ocf.org/OrthodoxPage/]
Orthodox
[http://home.it.net.au/~jgrapsas/pages/Resources.htm]
Sufism - from the Haqqani Foundation [http://www.naqshbandi.net/haqqani]
Legal Disclaimer ;
Page maintained by LMC Web Group
URL: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu
/lmc/help/guides/religion.html
Last modified:
Tuesday March 04 2008
|