Back
Science and Mathematics
LIBRARY MEDIA CENTER
GLENDALE COMMUNITY COLLEGE
6000 WEST OLIVE AVE.
GLENDALE, AZ 85302
TEL:623.845.3112
Astronomy | Biosciences | Marine Biology | Mathematics | Physics| Geology | Organizations | Museums | Zoos


Chemistry Reference Resources

Eurekalert - reports recent research in science, medicine, and engineering.

How Stuff Works - named one of the "Top 100 Classics" by PC Magazine, this site is full of fascinating information. How Stuff Works covers a wide range of topics. Examples: "how DVD players work", "how alcohol works", and "how credit cards work".

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences - full text isses are available six months after the publication date.

Science.gov/USA. Gov for Science - Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. It includes all areas of science - agriculture, astronomy, biology & nature, oceans, mathematics, chemistry, energy, environment, health & medicine, etc.

The Why Files : Science Behind the News - weekly features to help people understand the science behind aspects of everyday life. Includes a link for teachers who want to use the site as a classroom tool.

Astronomy

Digitized Sky Survey a set of all-sky photographic surveys hosted by the Space Telescope Science Institute. The images can be extracted in either FITS or GIF format.

HubbleSite - news and photos from NASA's orbiting Hubble Space Telescope.

Mars Global Explorer - NASA and the Jet Propulsion Laboratory launched the Mars Global Surveyor (MGS) spacecraft in November 1996. This site has pictures and technical information gathered by the Mars Global Surveyor, along with news and status reports regarding the mission.

NASA - the National Aeronautics and Space Administration provides background information on NASA, links to educational resources, and links to a variety of other NASA sponsored sites such as the international space station, AQUA, NASA webcasts, and Mars odyssey.

Nine Planets - a multimedia tour of the solar system.

Space.com - news, information, and entertainment related to space and astronomy topics.

Universe Today - abstracts of space related news stories from various web sites with links to the full story. Updated every weekday.

Biosciences


GCC Chemistry Dept.: Lisa Diebolt's links to Chemistry sites

WebElements Periodic Table - a "Best Free Reference Web Site" of Reference & User Services Quarterly that provides information on the elements - name, symbol, description, atomic weight, history. Also try the Scholar Edition for more detailed information.

Botany.com - encyclopedia of plants including common and botanical names.

Bugbios - all about insects, including photographs, educational resources, and web links.

Cells Alive! - photographs and computer enhanced images of cells and other organisms. Also includes links to related web sites.

World Wide Web Virtual Library: Biosciences - extensive directory of biology related web links.

Marine Biology

Dr. Robert Reavis' links to Marine Biology websites

Marine Biology Learning Center - educational information on marine sciences including fish biology and ecology, marine ecology, coral reefs, oceanography, and general ecology.

Marine Biological Laboratory (from Woods Hole, Mass.) - includes links to the library catalog and Marine Biological Laboratory publications.

Cousteau Society

Scripps Institution of Oceanography - Founded in 1903, "Scripps Institution of Oceanography is one of the oldest, largest, and most important centers for marine science research, graduate training, and public service in the world." Their site provides links to their research project, activities, etc.

ReefBase- "ReefBase is the world's premier online information system on coral reefs, and provides information services to coral reef professionals involved in management, research, monitoring, conservation and education."

Seaweb - "SeaWeb is a project designed to raise awareness of the world ocean and the life within it. The ocean plays a critical role in our everyday life and in the future of our planet. We believe that as more people understand this and begin to appreciate the earth as a water planet, they will take actions to conserve the ocean and the web of life it supports."

Oceana - "Oceana is a non-profit, international advocacy organization dedicated to restoring and protecting the world's oceans through policy advocacy, science, law and public education."

Mathematics

Ask Dr. Math - searchable by grade level

Math2.org - math tables and links to other math resources.

The Integrator - online integral calculator.

Math in Daily Life - uses of math in everyday life such as cooking, personal finances, and home decorating.

Math on the Web - the American Mathematical Society's collection of links to research guides, web sites, reference sources, people, and more.

Most Common Mathematical Errors - Lists common errors among students in undergraduate math, along with explanations and corrections.

Physics

PhysLink - news a "q & a" about physics and astronomy.
Center for the History of Physics - information on the history of physics.

Geological Sciences

GCC Geology Program (Applied Science Department): links to Geology websites

U.S. Geologic Survey - this searchable site includes information on earthquakes, floods, volcanos, groundwater, and much more. USGS information by state is also provided.

Earthquakes (USGS) - Real-time earthquake maps and current earthquake related information. Also includes links to earthquake research and other web sites dealing with earthquakes

Organizations, Museums, Zoos

American Museum of Natural History - information on current exhibits and activities at the museum, as well as links to the museum shops and Natural History magazine.

Atlanta Zoo - find out about the various animals living at the Atlanta Zoo. Make sure to check out the Panda project and the live "Panda Cam".

Chicago Museum of Science and Industry - information on exhibits and educational links. There are several interactive exhibits you can explore online.

Field Museum of Natural History (Chicago) - home of "Sue - the T-Rex

Franklin Institute Science Museum - Named for Benjamin Franklin, this site is packed full of informative science related learning resources such as, The Heart: an Online Exploration, Online Math Collection, The Human Brain, El Nino: Hot Air Over Hot Water, and many more.

Kennedy Space Center - this site includes information on space shuttle launches and landings, the history of the space center, information on current space technology, and a multimedia gallery of shuttle images.

National Aeronautic and Space Administration - the National Aeronautics and Space Administration provides background information on NASA, links to educational resources, and links to a variety of other NASA sponsored sites such as the international space station, AQUA, NASA webcasts, and Mars odyssey.

National Air and Space Museum - the Smithsonian Institution's National Air and Space Museum maintains the largest collection of historic air and spacecraft in the world. This site features online exhibitions, educational and research resources, and links to upcoming events at the museum.

National Science Foundation - features links to science news items and National Science Foundation research and education program areas.

San Diego Zoo - highlights some of the world's rarest wildlife, including Hua Mei, the only panda cub in the U.S.

San Francisco Exploratorium - the museum of science, art, and human perception, housed at San Francisco's Palace of Fine Arts. This site features links to several informative and interactive sections including the Brain Explorer, Math Explorer, Science Wire technology news, and the Learning Studio.

The Smithsonian Institution - links to Smithsonian's research and publications. Of special interest are the Online Photo Collection, with photos that can be downloaded for personal and educational use, and The Virtual Smithsonian, which highlights over 360 artifacts from the 14 Smithsonian museums along with a virtual walk to the Smithsonian Castle Building.


Legal Disclaimer ; Page maintained by LMC Web Group
URL: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu/lmc/help/guides/science_sites.html
Last modified: Monday August 04 2008

WEB RESOURCES LMC HOME PAGE GCC HOME PAGE MCCD HOME PAGE