SOURCES
FOR BASIC FACTS AND INFORMATION
This guide lists some
basic resources to locate information on cultures of the world.
REFERENCE SOURCES
Specialized Encyclopedias and Handbooks
General and Anthropological Focus
- Countries and Their Cultures (Ref GN 307 .C68 2001)
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture (Ref DC 33.7 .E53)
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture (Ref DD 290.26 .E53)
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Italian Culture (Ref DG 450 .E53)
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture (Ref DS 822.5 .E516)
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures (Ref
F 1406 .E515)
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture (Ref DP 233.5 .E63)
- Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (4 vols.) (Ref GN 307 .E52 1996)
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures (10 vols.) (Ref GN 307 .E53 1991)
- Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (4 vols.) (Ref GN 333 .W67 1998)
- Peoples of the Earth (20 vols.) (Ref GN 315 .P417)
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures (3 vols.) (Ref F 1218.6
.O95 2001)
- Cultural Atlas of Russia and the Soviet Union (Ref DK 32 .M62 1989)
- Cultural Atlas of India (Ref DS 421 .J6 1996)
- Cultural Atlas of China (Ref DS 721 .B56)
- Cultural Atlas of Africa (Ref DT 14 .M83)
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World (4 vols.) (Ref DS 35.53
.O95 1995)
Cultural Etiquette and Manners
- Culturegrams (GT 150 .C85). This popular resource is a standard resource
for providing a brief country-by-country overview of the main social customs
and courtesies. Also available Online.
- Do's and Taboos Around the World. Roger Axtell. (HF 5387 .D66 1993)
- Do's and Taboos Around the World for Women in Business. Roger Axtell.
(G 156.5 .B86 D67 1997)
- Do's and Taboos for Hosting International Visitors.(HF 5389.A98 1990)
- Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands (Ref HF 5389 .M67)
- Multicultural Manners: New Rules of Etiquette in a Changing Society (Ref
BJ 1853 .D74 1996)
- How To Be a Perfect Stranger: A Guide to Etiquette in Other People's Religious
Ceremonies, 1996 ed.,
(Ref BJ 2010 .M34) (2 vols.)
- CultureShock series. This excellent series covers many countries of the
world and provides in-depth discussion of each countries' cultural and social
customs. Typical chapters include: The People, Social Customs, Business
Customs, Food and Drink, Language, Survival Skills.
- The Perfect Stranger's Guide to Funerals and Grieving Practices (Ref BJ 2071 .P47 2000).
BOOKS AND MEDIA MATERIALS
Use "Books and Media" to locate
books and media items in our collection and other libraries in the MCCCD system.
You can search by author, title, subject, or keyword. Some typical subject
headings you may want to use include:
- Culture Shock--[country] (e.g., Culture Shock--Japan)
- National characteristics, [nationality] (e.g., National characteristics,
Japanese)
- Etiquette--[country]
- [Country]--Social Life and Customs (e.g., Japan--Social Life and
Customs)
- Manners and customs
- Intercultural Communication
- [Country]--Description and travel--Guidebooks (often provide useful
cultural tips for the traveler in specific countries)
A good series that is
published by the U.S. Government is the Area Handbook Series. These are in-depth
country studies that include history, ethnography, social customs and patterns,
politics and government, etc. Many of these have become somewhat dated, and
the series is being discontinued, but they provide good overviews of a country
and its population. We have most of these in our circulating collection; they
are also available online via the Library of Congress Country Studies website
(see below).
MAGAZINE, JOURNAL, AND NEWSPAPER articles can also be located using the library's databases. These
can be accessed from the Library Home Page - "Articles & Databases". Use some
of the subject headings mentioned above to locate articles in the databases.
Some good databases to use include Culturegrams, Ethnic Newswatch, General OneFile, and EBSCOMasterFile Premier.
WEB SITES Some web sites
that you may want to consult include the following:
Legal Disclaimer ;
Page maintained by LMC Web Group
URL: http://www.gc.maricopa.edu
/lmc/help/guides/worldcult.html
Last modified:
Tuesday March 04 2008
|