Latino American Experience Online

GCC Library > Databases by Subject Page > Latino American Experience Online

CONNECT	Latino American Experience Online
Description	Dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos; explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the US. [View extended description.]
Titles Indexed:
Coverage
Subjects	Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies ·
Types of Materials	Full Text ·Primary Sources ·General Reference Source ·
Scholarly Articles
Access	Remote Access Available ·MEID authentication or campus access required.
Vendor / Publisher	ABC-CLIO
Extended Description	<p>Designed and developed under the guidance of Latino librarians, <i>LAE</i> offers unparalleled depth and content that meets the specific research and curriculum needs of students, teachers, and librarians. The <i>Analyze</i> sections pose historic quandaries that invite learners to examine issues from all angles and develop their critical-thinking skills, while easy-to-use search and browse features facilitate research at every level.<br /> <br /> Coverage ranges from precontact Aztec and Maya societies to 21st-century political issues like recent immigration law to cultural themes like coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine. <i>The Latino American Experience</i> is an indispensable electronic research and learning resource that provides learners with far more than history lessons with facts and figures; it gives voice to the Latino experience through Latino authors and contributors.<br /> <br /> <b>Features</b><br /> &bull; Content includes hundreds of primary documents and media, including speeches, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and vivid historical photographs<br /> &bull; Faceted searching allows for fast and powerful refinement of search results<br /> &bull; Ongoing content updates enrich the site throughout the school year&mdash;at no additional cost<br /> <br /> <b>Highlights</b><br /> &bull; Developed under the guidance of Advisory Editor Dr. Ilan Stavans and leading scholars, this resource provides trustworthy content by authorities in the field<br /> &bull; Covers history and culture from all the countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula, including content on modern-day Latin American countries, the history of the Hispanic Diaspora, and indigenous peoples<br /> &bull; Ties into curriculum standards with content and features geared to state-required studies on Latino history</p>
Proxied URL	https://libproxy.gc.maricopa.edu/login?url=https://latinoamerican2.abc-clio.com
Unproxied URL	https://latinoamerican2.abc-clio.com   [CONNECT]