Library Databases

Other Database Viewing Options

Music

Grove & Oxford Music Online  

Coverage Range: Various. - current
Includes: Full Text · Encyclopedia & Dictionaries ·
The gateway to Grove's Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music Publisher: Oxford University Press


Academic Search Complete video on how to use database 

Coverage Range: 1887 - pres
Includes: Citations & Abstracts · Full Text ·
Multidisciplinary database with more extensive full text holdings than Academic Search Premier, including over 9,000 full text journals. Includes 459 unique titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases. Publisher: EBSCOhost


JSTOR  

Coverage Range: 1700s - current
Includes: Citations & Abstracts · Full Text · Image Resource ·
JOURNAL ARTICLES: Scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects dating back to the year of first publication for each journal. Includes historical pamphlets and a separate image search feature. Publisher: JSTOR


Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive  

Coverage Range: 1880 - 2000
Includes: Citations & Abstracts · Full Text ·
HISTORIC PUBLICATIONS: Periodical literature for film, broadcasting, popular music and theater magazines 1880-2000. Publisher: ProQuest


ProQuest Historic American Periodicals   

Coverage Range: 1740 - 2000
Includes: Full Text ·
HISTORIC PUBLICATIONS: Searches several ProQuest historic databases including popular periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, academic journals from 1800, and a collection of entertainment, art, and architecture publications from 1880s to 2000. Publisher: Proquest


Oxford Reference - Music  

Coverage Range: Various. - current
Includes: Full Text · Encyclopedia & Dictionaries · General Reference Source · This resource provides access to multiple databases.
Provides full-text access to two key music reference sources. Publisher: Oxford University Press


Humanities Source  

Coverage Range: 1907 - pres
Includes: Full Text ·
Developed through a merger of EBSCO & H.W. Wilson databases, it contains more than 1520 full text journals pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Includes 591 unique titles (40.8% of its collection), as compared to current GCC Library databases. Publisher: EBSCOhost


Humanities and Social Sci Retro  

Coverage Range: 1907 - 1984
Includes: Citations & Abstracts ·
Offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907. Publisher: EBSCOhost


Project Muse  

Coverage Range: Varies by publication - current
Includes: Citations & Abstracts · Full Text · eBooks · eJournal ·
Project MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content. Publisher: Project Muse


World Folklore & Folklife  

Includes: Full Text · Primary Sources · Image Resource · General Reference Source ·
Resources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world. Publisher: ABC-CLIO



Ask a Librarian

Chat