Library Databases (On Campus Community Access)

General / All Subjects

Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database with more extensive full text holdings than Academic Search Premier, including over 9,000 full text journals. Includes 459 unique titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Proquest CentralProquest CentralProQuest Central brings together many of Proquest's most used databases to create a comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.  

MasterFILE PremierMasterFILE PremierProvides full text for over 1,730 of periodicals. Coverage includes nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more.  

GALE PowerSearch (Gateway)GALE PowerSearch (Gateway)A comprehensive periodical resource that includes 5,156 full-text titles with more than 39 million databases records. It includes both popular magazines, specialized journals, newspapers, and wireservices. Former title: Expanded Academic ASAP.  

Gale Virtual Reference (Gale eBooks)Gale Virtual Reference (Gale eBooks)Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more. PROVIDES WORD and PAGE COUNT for EACH ARTICLE when browsing.  

JSTORJSTORJOURNAL ARTICLES: Scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects dating back to the year of first publication for each journal. Includes historical pamphlets and a separate image search feature.  

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

EBSCOhost (Gateway)EBSCOhost (Gateway)Provides access and search capabilities to multiple databases available from EBSCOhost. Full-text articles, citations, and media options vary per database.  

Films On DemandFilms On DemandProvides access to more than 6000 films in various subjects from Films for the Humanities & Sciences and other leading educational film vendors.  

eBooks (EBSCO)eBooks (EBSCO)Search and view the full text of eBooks through EBSCO.  

eBook Central (ProQuest)eBook Central (ProQuest)Access over 100,000 academic e-books.  

Oxford Handbooks OnlineOxford Handbooks OnlineEach Oxford Handbook offers an authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of current thinking and research. Specially commissioned essays from leading international figures in the discipline give critical examination of the progress and direction of debates, providing scholars and graduate students with compelling new perspectives.  

NoodletoolsNoodletoolsIt is a student research platform which allows the formatting MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian bibliographies, creation of note cards, outlining. All work is saved for future reference by the setting up of an account by each user.  

Swank Digital CampusSwank Digital CampusThis product offers motion pictures used by instructors and students in support of instruction. They may be included in Canvas for viewing by students off site or may be viewed in class, although resolution for the latter might be of lesser quality.  

Directory of Open Access Journals-DOAJDirectory of Open Access Journals-DOAJBrowseable and searchable e-Journal collection. Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.  

Show More...

Show Less...

General Reference

Gale Virtual Reference (Gale eBooks)Gale Virtual Reference (Gale eBooks)Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more. PROVIDES WORD and PAGE COUNT for EACH ARTICLE when browsing.  

Credo ReferenceCredo ReferenceProvides full-text access to ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS and other reference sources. WORD COUNT of EACH ARTICLE is available when browsing.  

Very Short IntroductionsVery Short IntroductionsVery Short Introductions titles offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Each volume provides an authoritative and engaging assessment of a concept, field, or body of work, drawing out the central ideas, themes, and approaches.  

Oxford ReferenceOxford ReferenceComprised mostly of specialized scholarly encyclopedia, as you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.  

Global Road WarriorGlobal Road WarriorThis resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.  

Chilton LibraryChilton LibraryProvides car repair information including: maintenance and specification tables; step-by-step service and repair procedures; vacuum diagrams; wiring diagrams; photographs and images for visual support, and A.S.E. test prep quizzes. The most complete coverage is from 1987-on, although there is some information for older models.  

National Geographic Virtual LibraryNational Geographic Virtual LibraryNow National Geographic and Gale, part of Cengage Learning, have partnered to bring vast resources to digital life with our National Geographic Virtual Library. This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine-- every page of every issue-- along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.  

Data Axle (ReferenceUSA)Data Axle (ReferenceUSA)This resource provides access to creating marketing plans, conducts competitive analysis, and locates businesses.  

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)Oxford English Dictionary (OED)Multi-volume authority on the usage and meaning of English words and phrases; includes historic definitions and cites early use.  

Arts & Humanities

ARTstorARTstorAccess to artistic images including African-American, American, Classical, and Literary Studies collections as well as Music history, Photography and many more collections.  

Humanities SourceHumanities SourceDeveloped through a merger of EBSCO & H.W. Wilson databases, it contains more than 1520 full text journals pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Includes 591 unique titles (40.8% of its collection), as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

Art and Architecture ArchiveArt and Architecture ArchiveA full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the 1854 - 2005. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.  

Entertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveEntertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveHISTORIC PUBLICATIONS: Periodical literature for film, broadcasting, popular music and theater magazines 1880-2000.  

Films On Demand: AnthropologyFilms On Demand: Anthropology380+ documentary films related to anthropology. [August 2011]  

Gale Reference (Gale eBooks) - Art, Film & MusicGale Reference (Gale eBooks) - Art, Film & MusicThis database is a collection of Gale Virtual Reference's Art, Film, and Music reference books.  

Humanities and Social Sci RetroHumanities and Social Sci RetroOffers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907.  

World Folklore & FolklifeWorld Folklore & FolklifeResources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.  

Biography

Biography (Gale in Context)Biography (Gale in Context)Over 1.5 million biographies of people from throughout history, around the world and across all disciplines; includes audio, video, and images.  

Gale Reference (Gale eBooks) - BiographyGale Reference (Gale eBooks) - BiographyThis is a collection of Gale Virtual Reference's Biography reference books.  

History Reference CenterHistory Reference CenterMAGAZINE, JOURNAL, and ENCYCLOPEDIA ARTICLES: featuring more than 2,400 reference books, 135 leading history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, photos, maps and video.  

Literature Resource Center (Gale)Literature Resource Center (Gale)Provides literary overviews, biographies, and criticism for more the 128,000 writers; includes index to extensive Gale literary series.  

Business

Business Source PremierBusiness Source PremierAccess to scholarly, popular, and trade publications related to Business; includes country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, and industry overviews.  

Small Business Reference CenterSmall Business Reference CenterThis resource provides up-to-date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.  

Gale Reference (Gale eBooks) - BusinessGale Reference (Gale eBooks) - BusinessThis database consists of Gale Virtual Reference's Business Collection, which boasts 15 different business reference resources, such as the Business Plans Handbook, the Encyclopedia of Management, Encyclopedia of Small Business, and American Industries and Careers.  

Data Axle (ReferenceUSA)Data Axle (ReferenceUSA)This resource provides access to creating marketing plans, conducts competitive analysis, and locates businesses.  

Business Insights GlobalBusiness Insights GlobalThis source provides international business intelligence through case studies, SWOT reports, corporate chronologies and profiles, full-text periodicals, market research reports, and company histories.  

Films on Demand: Business/EconomicsFilms on Demand: Business/EconomicsHundreds documentary films to choose from 7 specific subject areas within the business and economics.  

Gale Computer DatabaseGale Computer DatabaseComputer Database is a one-stop reference resource for up-to-date information on the world of technology. With Computer Database, you can instantly access hundreds of today's most well-read and influential periodicals in a single search.  

Regional Business NewsRegional Business NewsProvides full text coverage from 75 regional business publications, including journals, newspapers, newswires. However, the only Arizona-specific journal included is Inside Tucson Business.  

Careers

Ferguson's Career Guidance CenterFerguson's Career Guidance CenterKnown for its unprecedented depth of coverage, this comprehensive career research database is organized into three main sections: through Industries and Careers, users can explore a multitude of industries, career fields, and professions.  

Salem CareersSalem CareersIncludes "Careers In ..." which explores the fields and occupations of science and other emerging fields and the career-focused "Contemporary Biographies" series.  

Occupational Outlook Handbook OnlineOccupational Outlook Handbook OnlineThe Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) is a career resource offering information on the hundreds of occupations that provide the overwhelming majority of jobs in the United States.  

O*NetO*NetO*NET is a tool for career exploration and job analysis! O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more! Keyword or O*NET-SOC Code: Browse groups of similar occupations to explore careers.  

Arizona Career Information SystemArizona Career Information SystemProvides local career information regarding wages and outlook.  

Survey of American Industry & CareersSurvey of American Industry & CareersThis comprehensive encyclopedia provides details facts and information about a wide range of American industries and careers.  

My Next MoveMy Next MoveMy Next Move is an interactive tool for job seekers and students to learn more about their career options. The site has tasks, skills, salary information, and more for over 900 different careers. Users can find careers through keyword search; by browsing industries that employ different types of workers; or through the O*NET Interest Profiler, a tool that offers personalized career suggestions based on a person's interests and level of work experience.  

Professional Development CollectionProfessional Development CollectionIf it's even remotely related to education, it's in this database. Everything from academic journals to teacher's editions of Weekly Reader can be found here.  

Vocations & Careers CollectionVocations & Careers CollectionVocations & Careers Collection makes it easier for you by providing content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.  

Films on Demand: Career & Job SearchFilms on Demand: Career & Job SearchThis collection contains hundreds of videos with focused collections on career exploration, career fields and industries, career success skills, and a substantive job searching skills section (including portions on job searching, resume/cover letter building, interviewing, and following-up).  

Communication

Communication and Mass Media CompleteCommunication and Mass Media CompleteProvides quality research in the areas of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.  

APA PsycARTICLESAPA PsycARTICLESContains more than 26,000 searchable full-text articles from 42 peer-reviewed journals published by APA and allied organizations from 1988 to the present, with earlier years in production. Full-text articles will be linked to the PsychInfo database as well.  

Humanities and Social Sci RetroHumanities and Social Sci RetroOffers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907.  

Rosetta Stone (through Center for Learning)Rosetta Stone (through Center for Learning)Want to learn or practice a new language? All GCC students, faculty and staff have FREE access to Rosetta Stone. You can choose from 23 different languages and multiple levels. Rosetta Stone can help you: build language skills, improve pronunciation, increase vocabulary, use real-world phrases, learn to read and write. This product is offered through the Center For Learning--see page for details.  

Contemporary Issues

Issues and ControversiesIssues and ControversiesProvides current, in-depth, and objective information on contemporary issues. Coverage begins in 1995. This is the on-line version of the print Issues and Controversies collection on the Contemporary Issues Index table.  

Opposing ViewpointsOpposing ViewpointsCurrent & controversial issues resource that provides access to 'viewpoint' articles, reference materials, magazines, newspapers, primary sources, statistics, and multimedia on current topics.  

CQ ResearcherCQ ResearcherCongressional Quarterly provides in-depth unbiased reports of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.  

Gale Virtual Reference (Gale eBooks)Gale Virtual Reference (Gale eBooks)Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more. PROVIDES WORD and PAGE COUNT for EACH ARTICLE when browsing.  

GreenFILEGreenFILEGreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.  

PBS VideoPBS VideoYou have access over 401 core films from PBS.  

Cultural, Ethnic & Area Studies

African American Experience OnlineAfrican American Experience OnlineProvides access to numerous reference materials and primary resources related to African American history and culture.  

Gale in Context: Global Issues in ContextGale in Context: Global Issues in ContextGlobal Issues in Context focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues.  

Global Road WarriorGlobal Road WarriorThis resource provides access to country information in various categories. Great database to learn about culture, business, government and other socio-economic information.  

Countries, Peoples & CulturesCountries, Peoples & CulturesCountries, Peoples & Cultures series is complete with specific information on over 200 countries and self-governing territories, as well as separate appendices profiling 21 types of governments and 10 major world religions.  

Gale Reference (Gale eBooks) - Multicultural StudiesGale Reference (Gale eBooks) - Multicultural StudiesThis database consists of Gale Virtual Reference's collection of multi-cultural and ethnic studies reference resources.  

Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.  

American Indian Experience OnlineAmerican Indian Experience OnlineREFERENCE ARTICLES and MORE: Includes thousands of reference articles, hundreds of primary documents and thousands of images. The Perspectives sections pose historic quandaries that invite learners to examine issues from all angles.  

Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Through HistoryREFERENCE ARTICLES & MORE: Provides access to cross-disciplinary resources regarding numerous world cultures, showing how people lived their lives in the past and in the present. Allows for browsing by Region, Time Period, & Subject.  

Latino American Experience OnlineLatino American Experience OnlineDedicated to the history and culture of Latinos; explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the US.  

Humanities and Social Sci RetroHumanities and Social Sci RetroOffers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907.  

National Geographic Virtual LibraryNational Geographic Virtual LibraryNow National Geographic and Gale, part of Cengage Learning, have partnered to bring vast resources to digital life with our National Geographic Virtual Library. This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine-- every page of every issue-- along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos.  

PBS VideoPBS VideoYou have access over 401 core films from PBS.  

Informe AcademicoInforme AcademicoThis resource provides access to Spanish and Portuguese language scholarly journals and magazines. It offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.  

SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full TextContains more than 900 full text journals and magazines in addition to more than 250 full text books and monographs in the field of sociology. Includes 459 unique periodical titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

World Folklore & FolklifeWorld Folklore & FolklifeResources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.  

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

Show More...

Show Less...

Education

ERICERICERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. This database provides full text of digests along with educational and education-related journals.  

Gale Reference (Gale eBooks) - EducationGale Reference (Gale eBooks) - EducationThis is a rich reference collection of educational resources from the database Gale Virtual Reference Library.  

Teacher Reference CenterTeacher Reference CenterTeacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.  

Chronicle of Higher EducationChronicle of Higher EducationConsidered the number one source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.  

Professional Development CollectionProfessional Development CollectionIf it's even remotely related to education, it's in this database. Everything from academic journals to teacher's editions of Weekly Reader can be found here.  

CollegeSource OnlineCollegeSource OnlineAccess to more than 39,000 course catalogs from U.S. and international colleges and universities. Includes complete cover-to-cover original page format of 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional schools, and international schools. Entries include a college profile and a link to their web page.  

Show More...

Show Less...

English & Literature

Literature Resource Center (Gale)Literature Resource Center (Gale)Provides literary overviews, biographies, and criticism for more the 128,000 writers; includes index to extensive Gale literary series.  

Literary Reference CenterLiterary Reference CenterProvides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. Includes biographies, criticisms, summaries, and more.  

Humanities SourceHumanities SourceDeveloped through a merger of EBSCO & H.W. Wilson databases, it contains more than 1520 full text journals pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Includes 591 unique titles (40.8% of its collection), as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Literature Criticism OnlineLiterature Criticism OnlineProvides full text pdf-only access to <i>Short Story Criticism</i>, <i>Poetry Criticism</i>, and <i>Drama Criticism</i>.  

Humanities and Social Sci RetroHumanities and Social Sci RetroOffers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907.  

Gale Reference (Gale eBooks) - LiteratureGale Reference (Gale eBooks) - LiteratureThis collection brings together a large collection of reference works in literary criticism and literature form the database Gale Virtual Reference Library.  

Salem LiteratureSalem LiteratureIncludes access literary criticism and overviews via Critical Insights, Critical Surveys, Magill's Literary Annuals, and Masterplots publications.  

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)Oxford English Dictionary (OED)Multi-volume authority on the usage and meaning of English words and phrases; includes historic definitions and cites early use.  

World Folklore & FolklifeWorld Folklore & FolklifeResources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.  

Government & Law

LegalTracLegalTracLegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.  

Criminal Justice Abstracts w/Full TextCriminal Justice Abstracts w/Full TextProvides full text access to more than 320 magazines and journals covering topics such as criminology, criminal justice, corrections and prisons, forensic science, probation and parole. Includes 186 unique titles (58.3% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Legal Information Reference CenterLegal Information Reference CenterProviding many of the top consumer legal reference books, full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers.  

Gale Reference (Gale eBooks) - LawGale Reference (Gale eBooks) - LawThis is a collection of legal reference sources from the database Gale Virtual Reference Library.  

CQ ResearcherCQ ResearcherCongressional Quarterly provides in-depth unbiased reports of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.  

Military & Government CollectionMilitary & Government CollectionThis database is an index to citations/abstracts and cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals in military and government fields.  

Historical Publications

Historical Periodicals Collection (AAS)Historical Periodicals Collection (AAS)HISTORIC PUBLICATIONS: The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877.  

ProQuest Historic American PeriodicalsProQuest Historic American PeriodicalsHISTORIC PUBLICATIONS: Searches several ProQuest historic databases including popular periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, academic journals from 1800, and a collection of entertainment, art, and architecture publications from 1880s to 2000.  

19th Century US Newspapers19th Century US NewspapersHISTORIC PUBLICATIONS: Includes 19th Century U.S. Newspapers [1800 - 1899] and Times Digital Archive (London) [1785 - 2011].  

Arizona Republican (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Arizona Republican (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Access to the historic Arizona Republic newspaper from 1890 - 2007.  

Women's Magazine ArchiveWomen's Magazine ArchiveArchive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st including Cosmopolitan (1886), Town & Country (1900), Women's Day (1937), Seventeen (1944), Essence (1970), and WIN News (1975). [Archive begins - 1885]  

Ebsco Magazine ArchivesEbsco Magazine ArchivesProvides cover-to-cover access to major 20th century periodicals including Forbes (1917-2000), Time (1923-2000), Life (1936-2000), Atlantic (1857-2014), and U.S. News & World Report (1926-1984) magazines.  

Slavery & Anti-Slavery ArchiveSlavery & Anti-Slavery ArchivePRIMARY SOURCES & MORE: Includes Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery, and The Age of Emancipation.  

Films on Demand: Archival Films & NewsreelsFilms on Demand: Archival Films & NewsreelsSTREAMING VIDEO: Hundreds of short archival films from different eras of US history between 1919 and 1968.  

History

Gale in Context: U.S. HistoryGale in Context: U.S. HistoryMAGAZINE, JOURNAL & ENCYCLOPEDIC ARTICLES: Covers US topics ranging from the arrival of the Vikings in North America to today's war on terror.  

Gale in Context: World HistoryGale in Context: World HistoryMAGAZINE, JOURNAL & ENCYCLOPEDIC ARTICLES: Covers world history ranging from the ancient world to today's headlines.  

Daily Life Through HistoryDaily Life Through HistoryREFERENCE ARTICLES & MORE: Provides access to cross-disciplinary resources regarding numerous world cultures, showing how people lived their lives in the past and in the present. Allows for browsing by Region, Time Period, & Subject.  

Salem HistorySalem HistoryPRIMARY SOURCES & ENCYCLOPEDIC ARTICLES: Includes content from printed reference sets including the Decades collections, Defining Documents, Great Lives, etc.  

Gale Reference (Gale eBooks) - HistoryGale Reference (Gale eBooks) - HistoryENCYCLOPEDIC & REFERENCE ARTICLES: Access 50+ reference titles related to history.  

Films on Demand: HistoryFilms on Demand: HistorySTREAMING VIDEO: More than 1000 streaming documentary films covering aspects of American, European, and world history.  

Films on Demand: Archival Films & NewsreelsFilms on Demand: Archival Films & NewsreelsSTREAMING VIDEO: Hundreds of short archival films from different eras of US history between 1919 and 1968.  

American Indian Experience OnlineAmerican Indian Experience OnlineREFERENCE ARTICLES and MORE: Includes thousands of reference articles, hundreds of primary documents and thousands of images. The Perspectives sections pose historic quandaries that invite learners to examine issues from all angles.  

World Folklore & FolklifeWorld Folklore & FolklifeResources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.  

Slavery & Anti-Slavery ArchiveSlavery & Anti-Slavery ArchivePRIMARY SOURCES & MORE: Includes Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, The Institution of Slavery, and The Age of Emancipation.  

History Reference CenterHistory Reference CenterMAGAZINE, JOURNAL, and ENCYCLOPEDIA ARTICLES: featuring more than 2,400 reference books, 135 leading history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, photos, maps and video.  

JSTORJSTORJOURNAL ARTICLES: Scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects dating back to the year of first publication for each journal. Includes historical pamphlets and a separate image search feature.  

Reader's Guide RetrospectiveReader's Guide RetrospectiveCITATION DATABASE w/ SOME FULL TEXT: Provides a comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published from 1890-1982 in the United States, including People Weekly, Vogue, Rolling Stone, and Ladies' Home Journal.  

Humanities and Social Sci RetroHumanities and Social Sci RetroOffers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907.  

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

Show More...

Show Less...

Librarian Tools

NoodletoolsNoodletoolsIt is a student research platform which allows the formatting MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian bibliographies, creation of note cards, outlining. All work is saved for future reference by the setting up of an account by each user.  

ChoiceChoiceSince its founding as a monthly collection of recommended titles more than 50 years ago, Choice has become the go-to source for librarians seeking worthwhile new titles for their collection. This publication offers approximately 600 reviews every month, identifying the best new books and digital content in academia.  

WorldCatWorldCatAn OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. It contains all of the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries and offers millions of bibliographic records representing 400 languages.  

LISTALISTALISTA indexes periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, online information retrieval, information management and more.  

Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary LoanEnables GCC affiliates to request materials from libraries outside of the MCCCD system. This system and service is available to students, faculty, and staff of Maricopa Community Colleges.  

Directory of Open Access Journals-DOAJDirectory of Open Access Journals-DOAJBrowseable and searchable e-Journal collection. Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.  

Google ScholarGoogle ScholarUse the power of Google to search for articles from scholarly resources. Off-campus users can access GCC Materials via FindIt @ GCCAZ link. On- campus users must change Google Scholar settings to include GCC as a linked library.  

Military

Military & Government CollectionMilitary & Government CollectionThis database is an index to citations/abstracts and cover-to-cover full text for more than 300 journals and periodicals in military and government fields.  

Music

Grove & Oxford Music OnlineGrove & Oxford Music OnlineThe gateway to Grove's Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music  

Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database with more extensive full text holdings than Academic Search Premier, including over 9,000 full text journals. Includes 459 unique titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

JSTORJSTORJOURNAL ARTICLES: Scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects dating back to the year of first publication for each journal. Includes historical pamphlets and a separate image search feature.  

Entertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveEntertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveHISTORIC PUBLICATIONS: Periodical literature for film, broadcasting, popular music and theater magazines 1880-2000.  

ProQuest Historic American PeriodicalsProQuest Historic American PeriodicalsHISTORIC PUBLICATIONS: Searches several ProQuest historic databases including popular periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, academic journals from 1800, and a collection of entertainment, art, and architecture publications from 1880s to 2000.  

Oxford Reference - MusicOxford Reference - MusicProvides full-text access to two key music reference sources.  

Humanities SourceHumanities SourceDeveloped through a merger of EBSCO & H.W. Wilson databases, it contains more than 1520 full text journals pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought. Includes 591 unique titles (40.8% of its collection), as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Humanities and Social Sci RetroHumanities and Social Sci RetroOffers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907.  

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

World Folklore & FolklifeWorld Folklore & FolklifeResources related to the myths, legends, and folktales of a particular people, as well as geography, history, religion, beliefs, rituals, ceremonies, holidays, festivals, music, dance, food, drink, arts, crafts, and challenges of the modern world.  

News

Proquest Newspaper Multi-SearchProquest Newspaper Multi-SearchThis search option searches all the Proquest newspaper databases including U.S. Major Dailies, Ethnic Newswatch, etc.  

U.S. Major DailiesU.S. Major DailiesContains both articles and indexing to articles from the country's leading newspapers--Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.  

Arizona RepublicArizona RepublicAccess to The Arizona Republic (1999 - present). Daily newspaper covers the state of Arizona, as well as local, national and international news.  

Arizona Republican (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Arizona Republican (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Access to the historic Arizona Republic newspaper from 1890 - 2007.  

Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.  

19th Century US Newspapers19th Century US NewspapersHISTORIC PUBLICATIONS: Includes 19th Century U.S. Newspapers [1800 - 1899] and Times Digital Archive (London) [1785 - 2011].  

Regional Business NewsRegional Business NewsProvides full text coverage from 75 regional business publications, including journals, newspapers, newswires. However, the only Arizona-specific journal included is Inside Tucson Business.  

Gale NewsGale NewsProvides full-text access to more than 2,300 major U.S., regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading international titles. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.  

Christian Science MonitorChristian Science MonitorContains both articles and indexing to articles from the Christian Science Monitor. Full text and indexing/abstracting are both available from Jan. 2, 1980 - present, with some exceptions.  

Nursing, Medicine & Health

CINAHL: A Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health LiteratureCINAHL: A Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health LiteratureComprehensive source of scholarly full text journals for nursing & allied health--including publications of the American Nurses' Association & National League for Nursing--covering biomedicine, management, behavioral sciences, clinical trials, evidence-based practice, consumer health, and more.  

Gale Health & Medicine (Health Reference Center)Gale Health & Medicine (Health Reference Center)Health Reference Center Academic is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics.  

Health Source: Nursing/AcademicHealth Source: Nursing/AcademicAccess to full text popular, scholarly and peer reviewed journals focusing on medical disciplines especially related to nursing. Specialized journals focus on all areas of nursing including ethics, inquiry, pediatric, mental health, etc.  

ScienceDirectScienceDirectScienceDirect provides access to science, technology, social science, and medicine peer-reviewed (scholarly) full text articles.  

MEDLINE [Biomedical Journals]MEDLINE [Biomedical Journals]MEDLINE provides citations & abstracts with links to some full text scholarly and peer reviewed articles in all areas of medicine including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.  

New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is recognized as one of the world s leading medical journals. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed journal articles and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, researchers, and the global medical community.  

Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)  

Health Source - ConsumerHealth Source - ConsumerFull text access to consumer health publications, pamphlets, and reference books including information on medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health, etc.  

PubMedPubMedPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.  

Health & Wellness Resource CenterHealth & Wellness Resource CenterProvides alternative medicine focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos and reference information. Topics covered include: medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, pregnancy, herbal remedies. Also included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites and government databases.  

Journal of Strength and Conditioning ResearchJournal of Strength and Conditioning Research  

Films on Demand: Health & MedicineFilms on Demand: Health & MedicineAbout 1000 documentary films to choose from 7 specific subject areas within the health and medicine.  

Nursing & Allied HealthNursing & Allied HealthNursing & Allied Health Collection comes to the rescue of nursing students, physician's assistant students, and researchers in allied health fields who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment and management of all sorts of patients.  

Salem Health (including Magill's Medical Guide)Salem Health (including Magill's Medical Guide)Magill's Medical Guide is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.  

O*NetO*NetO*NET is a tool for career exploration and job analysis! O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more! Keyword or O*NET-SOC Code: Browse groups of similar occupations to explore careers.  

R2 Digital Library (eBooks)R2 Digital Library (eBooks)Includes 2 dozen OER titles. If other books in this database are needed for classes, notify the GCC Library.  

Nursing Made Incredibly EasyNursing Made Incredibly EasyThis journal breaks down challenging clinical topics into easily understood formats. Articles are contributed by experienced clinicians.  

Show More...

Show Less...

Psychology

APA PsycARTICLESAPA PsycARTICLESContains more than 26,000 searchable full-text articles from 42 peer-reviewed journals published by APA and allied organizations from 1988 to the present, with earlier years in production. Full-text articles will be linked to the PsychInfo database as well.  

Psychology and Behavioral Science CollectionPsychology and Behavioral Science CollectionComprehensive database with nearly 470 full text titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.  

EBSCOhost Psychology Databases (MultiSearch)EBSCOhost Psychology Databases (MultiSearch)Simultaneously searches Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycARTICLES, and PsycINFO.  

Gale PsychologyGale PsychologyThis product provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.  

Films On Demand: PsychologyFilms On Demand: PsychologyMore than 800 documentary films related to psychology.  

Gale Virtual Reference (Gale eBooks)Gale Virtual Reference (Gale eBooks)Provides access to popular Gale specialized encyclopedias and resources in arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, science, social science and more. PROVIDES WORD and PAGE COUNT for EACH ARTICLE when browsing.  

MEDLINE [Biomedical Journals]MEDLINE [Biomedical Journals]MEDLINE provides citations & abstracts with links to some full text scholarly and peer reviewed articles in all areas of medicine including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.  

Psychotherapy.net VideosPsychotherapy.net VideosPsychotherapy.net provides a number of videos to help those training to be therapists and those in the field of Behavioral Health. These videos focus upon skills and techniques used by therapists to get through to patients and help them with their relationships, mental health struggles, behaviors, and needs.  

Professional Development CollectionProfessional Development CollectionIf it's even remotely related to education, it's in this database. Everything from academic journals to teacher's editions of Weekly Reader can be found here.  

PubMedPubMedPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.  

Journal of Applied Behavior AnalysisJournal of Applied Behavior AnalysisJournal of Applied Behavior Analysis is a psychology journal that publishes research about applications of the experimental analysis of behavior to problems of social importance.  

Show More...

Show Less...

Religion & Philosophy

Religion & Philosophy CollectionReligion & Philosophy CollectionProvides fulltext articles from more than 300 journals, 250 peer-reviewed, covering topics of religious and philosophical studies.  

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

Gale Reference (Gale eBooks) - ReligionGale Reference (Gale eBooks) - ReligionThis collection contains a wide assortment or religion reference resources from the database Gale Virtual Reference Library.  

Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database with more extensive full text holdings than Academic Search Premier, including over 9,000 full text journals. Includes 459 unique titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Humanities and Social Sci RetroHumanities and Social Sci RetroOffers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907.  

JSTORJSTORJOURNAL ARTICLES: Scholarly journal articles in a variety of subjects dating back to the year of first publication for each journal. Includes historical pamphlets and a separate image search feature.  

Science

ScienceDirectScienceDirectScienceDirect provides access to science, technology, social science, and medicine peer-reviewed (scholarly) full text articles.  

Science MagazineScience MagazineLeading weekly general scientific journal, publishing primary peer-reviewed research and breaking science news.  

Nature International WeeklyNature International WeeklyScience-related online access to full-text articles dating 1997 to the current. Additionally, various online methods are available, such as RSS feeds, blogs, and other timely technologies that provide current scientific information.  

Scientific American 1993-Scientific American 1993-The archive currently contains the entire editorial contents of Scientific American magazine, with fulltext and graphics, from January 1993 through to the present.  

Gale Reference (Gale eBooks) - ScienceGale Reference (Gale eBooks) - ScienceThis resource is a collection of scientific reference titles from Gale Virtual Reference Library.  

Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database with more extensive full text holdings than Academic Search Premier, including over 9,000 full text journals. Includes 459 unique titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

GreenFILEGreenFILEGreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.  

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry & TechnologyInternational Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry & TechnologyOriginally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council. 'It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances.'  

MEDLINE [Biomedical Journals]MEDLINE [Biomedical Journals]MEDLINE provides citations & abstracts with links to some full text scholarly and peer reviewed articles in all areas of medicine including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.  

Salem ScienceSalem ScienceSalem Science is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets related to science.  

Smithsonian Physical TablesSmithsonian Physical TablesThis classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.  

Social Sciences

American Sociological ReviewAmerican Sociological ReviewAmerican Sociological Review (ASR) is the American Sociological Association s flagship journal. All areas of sociology are welcome in ASR, and emphasis is on exceptional quality and general interest.  

SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full TextContains more than 900 full text journals and magazines in addition to more than 250 full text books and monographs in the field of sociology. Includes 459 unique periodical titles (54% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Project MuseProject MuseProject MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books, launched in January 2012, are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.  

ScienceDirectScienceDirectScienceDirect provides access to science, technology, social science, and medicine peer-reviewed (scholarly) full text articles.  

Criminal Justice Abstracts w/Full TextCriminal Justice Abstracts w/Full TextProvides full text access to more than 320 magazines and journals covering topics such as criminology, criminal justice, corrections and prisons, forensic science, probation and parole. Includes 186 unique titles (58.3% of its collection) as compared to current GCC Library databases.  

Films on Demand: SociologyFilms on Demand: SociologyThousands of documentary films to choose from 15 specific subject areas within the humanities and social sciences.  

Sports & Recreation

Research Quarterly for Exercise & SportResearch Quarterly for Exercise & SportThis publication offers the latest research in the art and science of human movement studies.  

Journal of Strength and Conditioning ResearchJournal of Strength and Conditioning Research